Night Shots

Going into this project,I really had nothing in mind. I did, however, know that I wanted to do something different from my earlier shots of Billings at night. With all of the Christmas lights now up, I decided to try to make them my focus of my shots. I attempted to shoot some of the flashing/”moving” Christmas lights, and didn’t get much luck. I believe this was largely due to the shutter needing to stay open for too long because of the darkness. the lights tended to some out white or a odd mixture of color. after several failures, I thought of what my camera would do while i was driving. So, it sat on my dash and i drove down the street while it took the photograph. he second image was a result of my desire to get an image that could pass as a poster, perhaps one meant more ideally for the dark. Using glow sticks, I cut them open and wrote on a large piece of paper and splattered the glowing liquid onto the page.

christmas

Title: Driving at Christmas time
Date taken: 12/9/12
Camera: Nikon D40
Lens: Nikkor 55-200mm
Shutter speed:  2 sec.
F-stop: f/11
ISO: 800
Focal length: 100mm
Tripod: No – camera sitting on dashboard of car

imagine

Title: Imagine
Date taken: 12/11/12
Camera: Nikon D40
Lens: Nikkor 18-55mm
Shutter speed: 30 sec.
F-stop: f/16
ISO: 800
Focal length: 55 mm
Tripod: yes

Leave a comment